Annutto Law Office Criminal Defense in New Hampshire & Massachusetts
Annutto Law Office Criminal Defense inNew Hampshire &Massachusetts

MASSACHUSETTS OUI / DUI LAWS

Massachusetts OUI penalties are set out in Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 24 and Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 24D. The latter section is referred to as the alternative or "24D" disposition. Penalties for convictions of DUI in Massachusetts are as follows:

 

  1. First Offense OUI 
    1. Jail Sentence for up to 2 1/2 years;
    2. Fine of five hundred dollars to five thousand dollars;
    3. Two hundred fifty dollar head injury fee;
    4. Fifty dollar victim fee;
    5. Sixty five dollar per month probation supervision fee;
    6. License suspension for 1 year (hardship license considered in three months).

 

Alternative "24D" Disposition 
  1. Probation for up to two years;
  2. Alcohol education program;
  3. Forty five day loss of license;
  4. Two hundred fifty dollar head injury fee;
  5. Fifty dollar OUI fee;
  6. Two hundred fifty 24D fee;
  7. Sixty five dollar per month probation supervision fee.

  

  1. Second Offense OUI 

     

    1. Sixty day house of correction sentence, thirty days mandatory and up to 2 1/2; years;
    2. Fine of six hundred dollars to ten thousand dollars;
    3. Two hundred dollar head injury assessment fee;
    4. Two year loss of license (hardship considered after one year)
    5. Additional court fines and fees

 

  1. Third Offense OUI 

     

    1. 180 days in the house of correction, 150 days is mandatory, and up to five years in prison. Third offenses are felonies in Massachusetts.
    2. Fine of one thousand dollars to fifteen thousand dollars;
    3. Two hundred fifty dollar head injury fee;
    4. Eight year loss of license (hardship considered after four years);
    5. Additional court fines and fees

 

  1. Fourth Offense OUI 

     

    1. Incarceration of two years, one year mandatory and up to five years;
    2. Fine of one thousand five hundred dollars to twenty five thousand dollars;
    3. Two hundred fifty dollar head injury fee;
    4. Ten year loss of license (hardship considered after five years);
    5. Additional court fines and fees

 

  1. Fifth Offense OUI 

     

    1. Incarceration for two and one half years, two years mandatory and up to five years;
    2. Fine of two thousand dollars to fifty thousand dollars;
    3. Two hundred fifty dollar head injury fee;
    4. Lifetime loss of license, no hardship

If you have been charged with OUI in Massachusetts you need to call an experienced Massachusetts drunk driving lawyer like Joseph M. Annutto. Our office can be reached by calling 978-458-4566 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. You can also contact us online.

Contact Us

Annutto Law Office

369 Main St

Nashua, NH 03060

 

Phone: +1 603 881-9161

Fax: +1 603 821-5185

Email: joe@annuttolawoffice.com

 

Appointments also available at

other locations in

New Hampshire and Massachusetts

 

We also have a Massachusetts phone number for your convenience

Phone: +1 978 4584566

Email: joe@annuttolawoffice.com

 

Or use our contact form.

Office Hours

We can be reached during the following hours:

 

Monday through Friday

8:00 am to 5:00 pm

 

Nights and Weekends

By phone

 

Print Print | Sitemap
© Criminal Defense